A massive clash between the councillors of AAP and BJP halted the Delhi mayoral election as opposing councillors screamed slogans attacking Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Arvind Kejriwal.

A massive clash between the councillors of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) occurred today during the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) meeting due to which the meeting abruptly ended.


The conflict between AAP and BJP halted the Delhi Mayor election, as opposing councillors brawled at the first meeting of the newly elected civic body and screamed slogans attacking Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Arvind Kejriwal.

The protest broke out when Satya Sharma, the temporary Speaker chosen by Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena, swore in the elected members of the house, or aldermen.

AAP MLAs and councillors rushed to the centre of the house and shouted complaints as Mr Sharma called an alderman to take the oath. According to, the AAP members the elected councillors should have been sworn in before the nominated members.

The conflict Between AAP and BJP:

Image Sorce: Hindustan Times

The Lieutenant Governor, who represents the Centre in Delhi and answers to the Union Home Minister and AAP, has been in a series of disagreements before today’s battle.

Before this, the AAP had complained that the Lieutenant Governor had named 10 MCD nominees without first contacting the Delhi government.

Following the announcement of the nominees, Mr Saxena appointed BJP councillor Satya Sharma as temporary Speaker to oversee today’s election. Mukesh Goyal, the senior-most councillor, has been suggested by AAP for the position.

Arvind Kejriwal, the leader of the AAP and the current chief minister of Delhi, accused the lieutenant governor of selecting 10 nominees who were deliberately linked with the BJP in a letter that was posted on Twitter yesterday.

Image Source:The New Indian Express

It is customary to designate the oldest member of the House to serve as Speaker or presiding officer. BJP, however, is adamantly committed to eliminating all democratic customs and institutions MLA of the AAP Saurabh Bhardwaj tweeted.

The BJP leader, Manoj Tiwari said, that the Constitution is being followed in all respects. They are making excuses because they are aware that they have lost the moral battle.

Shelly Oberoi is the mayoral candidate for Arvind Kejriwal’s party. Rekha Gupta was nominated by the BJP in a last-minute about-face after the party had earlier said it would not run for the position. And Ashu Thakur is the backup candidate for AAP. The Congress, which consists of nine councillors, has chosen not to participate in the election.

There are 250 elected councillors in the MCD House. The Fourteen MLAs nominated by the Delhi Speaker, the seven Lok Sabha MPs from Delhi who are members of the BJP, and the three Rajya Sabha members who are members of the AAP, will also run for the mayoral election.

Image Source: India Today
Anjali Panicker

Hi, myself Anjali Panicker. I am a very enthusiastic and passionate person. I like to learn and experience new things,


Comments are closed.


Copyright © 2023 Asiana Times. All Rights Reserved

Exit mobile version