Image credits –

India marks it place amongst the top 8

India, by virtue of finishing inside the top-three in their group in the recently concluded Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa, are among the eight automatic qualifiers for the 2024 edition of the tournament scheduled in Bangladesh.

India’s bearer of pride

India’s Harmanpreet Kaur has directly qualified for the upcoming edition of the T20 World Cup 2024. The Indian women’s team recently played in the Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa and will walk into the next edition of the tournament in Bangladesh. Notably, eight teams have earned direct qualification for the tournament and only two spots are up for grabs.


The top-three teams in each of the two groups of the World Cup automatically made the cut along with hosts Bangladesh and Pakistan who were ranked the highest outside the top-six direct qualifiers.

Right from the ICC

The International Cricket Council confirmed eight teams have been identified as automatic qualifiers for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024, to be held in Bangladesh, after the end of the eighth edition of the tournament that saw Australia win their sixth title. 

As per the qualification process, the top three teams from each group earn direct qualification along with the hosts and the highest-ranked team outside of the six direct qualifiers from the 10-team tournament.

Image credits –

Others in the game

Australia, New Zealand and South Africa are the teams to earn direct qualification as the top three teams of Group 1 in the league stage while England, India and the West Indies similarly make it from Group 2.

Bangladesh qualified as hosts of the ninth edition of the tournament while Pakistan made it by virtue of being the next highest-ranked team in the ICC Women’s T20I Team Rankings as of February 27, 2023.

Sri Lanka and Ireland are the only teams to have failed to qualify from the recently-held T20 World Cup.

Sri Lanka are currently ranked eighth in the rankings while Ireland are 10th.

A global qualifier in early 2024 will determine the remaining two available spots.

The game which frames legacy

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup (earlier known as ICC World Twenty20)[4] is the international championship of Twenty20. Organised by cricket’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), the tournament consists of 20 teams, with top 12 teams from the previous tournament getting automatic qualifications. while the 8 other teams were chosen through the Regional Qualifiers. 

The event has generally been held every two years. In May 2016, the ICC put forward the idea of having a tournament in 2018, with South Africa being the possible host,[5] but the ICC later dropped the idea of a 2018 edition at the conclusion of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy.[6] The 2020 edition of the tournament was scheduled to take place in 2020 in Australia but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the tournament was postponed until 2021, with the intended host changed to India.


Seasoned debater, articulative and intuitive speaker and is hands on with communicating and guiding the younger entrants into the field of vocal expression. contributed by providing innovation and excellence to various departments within college campus..


Comments are closed.


Copyright © 2023 Asiana Times. All Rights Reserved

Exit mobile version